Our People

Sandy Kennedy

Chief Executive

As Chief Executive of Entrepreneurial Scotland, Sandy is at the forefront of a movement to inspire and develop Scotland's people to build the most entrepreneurial society in the world.

Chris van der Kuyl

Chairman of Entrepreneurial Scotland

Chris van der Kuyl is the founding Chairman of Entrepreneurial Scotland. Chris is an entrepreneur whose expertise combines the start-up, development and market listed business arena in the technology, media and entertainment sectors.

James Stuart

Managing Director

As Managing Director for  Entrepreneurial Scotland, James is responsible for turning the strategy into reality by working closely with the Board, the CEO and the team who ultimately bring it all to life. He joined Entrepreneurial Scotland in July 2016 and has worked with the team on a brand new membership proposition.

Emma Watson Mack

Development Director

Emma Watson Mack is the Development Director for Entrepreneurial Scotland. 

Having studied Psychology at St Andrew's University Emma joined the Royal Artillery as an officer in 1993, serving for eight years and completing tours in Northern Ireland, Bosnia and Cyprus with the United Nations. Emma was selected as the first female to serve on the front line in a combat role, training as a Forward Observation Officer. 

Jane Richardson - Communications Director

Jane Richardson

Communications Director

Jane Richardson joined Entrepreneurial Scotland as Communications Director in April 2016. Working with Communications agency, Spreng Thomson, she develops and oversees the delivery of the media and public relations strategy and advises the Entrepreneurial Scotland team on stakeholder engagement and the execution of the communications plan. 

Ken Whipp

Entrepreneurial Scotland

Ken leads Entrepreneurial Scotland’s Executive Education programmes which include the Scale up Scotland Programme, The Saltire Fellowship and overseas learning journeys. He also works with the Scottish EDGE Fund supporting businesses post funding.

Sheena Armour

Head of Finance

Sheena joined Entrepreneurial Scotland in August 2017 as Head of Finance following a 17 year tenure as Senior Audit Manager at KPMG.  During her time with this firm Sheena predominantly managed the audits of owner managed businesses and AIM listed companies.  Her sector specialisms included the FMCG industry and legal services firms.

She has responsibility for the finances of Entrepreneurial Scotland and Entrepreneurial Scotland Foundation, as well as Saltire Foundation USA and Saltire Foundation Canada.

Cathy Craig

Commercial & Membership Director

Cathy joined the Entrepreneurial Scotland team as Commercial & Memberships Director in 2017 and is responsible for evolving and delivering the membership services.  It is the teams ambition to provide consistently excellent service and to grow the network in number and diversity attracting and retaining members across all sectors and across the whole of Scotland.

Sara Nelson

Head of Saltire Scholar Programme

Sara is responsible for the management of the Saltire Scholar internship programme which each year sees approximately 150 undergraduate students undertake summer internships across the UK and around the world. The role includes aspects of recruitment, marketing, stakeholder engagement, budgetary management, logistical supervision, operational planning and customer service.