ES Awards & Celebration Dinner

The ES Awards & Celebration Dinner took place on St Andrew’s Night, Thursday 30 November 2017 in Scotland’s most dynamic new event space - SWG3 in Glasgow.

It was a night like no other celebrating Scotland’s top entrepreneurial talent and those who have excelled in entrepreneurial leadership over the past 12 months.

Nominations for ES Awards 2018 will open in the summer.

Award Winners 2017

Entrepreneur of the Year

Winner: Gareth Williams, CEO and co-founder of Skyscanner


The individual that has led an organisation or enterprise of scale to strong growth in revenue, and profits through innovation, teamwork and leadership skills.

Sponsored by:

Scale-Up Entrepreneur of the Year

Winner: Angus MacDonald, Chairman of ICS Learn


The individual that has demonstrated that he or she is building a scale-up organisation or enterprise of outstanding potential.

Sponsored by:

Rising Star Entrepreneur of the Year

Winner: Callum Murray, CEO of Amiqus


The individual that has a truly entrepreneurial mindset, and considerable potential to drive growth.

Nominated by entrepreneurial partners.

Previous Winners

ES entrepreneur of the year winners 2016

In 2016, the prestigious Entrepreneur of the Year award was presented to James Milne CBE, Chairman & Managing Director, Balmoral Group while Chris Gauld, Chief Executive, Spark Energy was announced as the Emerging Entrepreneur of the Year.

Previous winners have included some of the country’s most high profile entrepreneurs such as Sir Tom Hunter of Sports Division, Ann Budge of Newell & Budge, David Milne of Wolfson Microelectronics, Simon Howie of the Simon Howie Group, Jim McColl OBE of Clyde Blowers and Hamid Guedroudj of Petroleum Experts.